Skip to Main Content

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

Mike Kabanica Scholarship

Scholarship Administrator
Meghan Ward
414.328.9972, ext 103

The 2022 Mike Kabanica Scholarship is now open. If you are a part of the 2022 graduating class and a 2021-2022 member of WYSA, you are invited to complete the online application for the Mike Kabanica Scholarship. All entries must be submitted by March 18, 2022 to be considered. Six $1,000 scholarships will be awarded to the top three female and the top three male applicants.

Mike Kabanica Scholarship Application
Mike Kabanica Scholarship Questions

Each year WYSA grants six scholarships to graduating seniors who portray commitment and excellence in their high school years; beginning with the 2018 graduating class, each scholarship winner will be awarded $1,000. This scholarship fund is named for Mike Kabanica, a long time WSA president. In order to apply, candidates must be a current year member of WYSA and a graduating high school senior. Three young women and three young men are selected based on their dedication to the sport of soccer, excellence in the classroom as well as their involvement in community service. 

2021 Recipients
Alexis Betker | Croatian Eagles Soccer Club | Washington Park High School
Lindsey Boll | Croatian Eagles Soccer Club | Franklin High School
Brooke Braga | Lakeshore United | Cedar Grove-Belgium High School
Jack Bell | Madison 56ers Soccer Club | Madison Memorial High School
Tyler Bonin | United Soccer of Allouez | Roncalli High School
Logan Pagel | United FC | Neenah High School

2020 Recipients
Kylie Bassett | Madison 56ers Soccer Club | Waunakee Community High School
Samantha Krieger | Croatian Eagles Soccer Club | Franklin High School
Vanessa Peterson | Croatian Eagles Soccer Club | Franklin High School
Cian Carlson | Madison 56ers Soccer Club | Middleton High School
Jacob Oppeneer | Lakeshore United FC | Oostburg High School
Eliot Popkewitz | Madison 56ers Soccer Club | Verona Area High School

2019 Recipients
Caleb Guenther | Mount Horeb Soccer Club | Mount Horeb High School
Zachary Janotha | Oshkosh United | Oshkosh West High School
Will Taylor | Madison 56ers Soccer Club | Madison West High School
Selena Esten | Elmbrook United | Cedarburg High School
Anna Evers | Kimberly Area Soccer Association | Kimberly High School
Abigail Peterson | Strike FC Wisconsin | Abby attends Big Foot High School

Past Recipients