APPROVED 2/28/09

Wisconsin Youth Soccer Association Annual General Meeting March 8, 2008 Appleton, WI

In Attendance: Mary Jo Parkins (Appleton Soccer Club), Mary Ann Jones (Ashwaubenon Soccer Club), Hunter Tyler (Chequamegon Bay Soccer Club), Dale Rhodes (Depere Select Soccer Club), Stacy Powell (Electric City Youth Soccer Association), Patrick Hodgins (FC Magic Soccer Club), Mark Kelderman (Flyway Soccer Club), Don Wirtz (Fond du Lac Soccer Association), Rhonda Graphos (Fox Valley Unified Soccer Club), Scott Nicholas (Foxx Soccer Club), Debbie Lorbecki (Grafton Soccer Club), Jim Welnetz (Goalgetters United Soccer Club), Dawn King (FC Green Bay), Mike Herman (Howard Hurricanes Soccer Club), Gary Coenen (Heart of the Valley Soccer Association), Renee Sullivan (New London Soccer Association), Lloyd Swager (Racine Area Soccer Association), Eileen Kirchner (Racine Soccer Club), Mike Burns (Stevens Point Soccer Club / Portage County Youth Soccer), Carol Vanderheyden (United Soccer of Allouez), Scott Clement (Verona Area Soccer Club), Jeff Luengen (Washington County FC), Lorin Cole (Water Cities Soccer Club), Mohamed Yafai (Watertown Soccer Club), Mark Polebitski (Waupaca Soccer Club), Kelly Strait (Whitewater Youth Soccer Club), Christine Yustus (Wisconsin Rapids Kickers), Howard Hoffman (Marshfield Youth Soccer Association and District 17 - Midway), Justin Oshefsky (Paper Valley Youth Soccer Club), Chris Lay (District 5 – MAYSA), Kurt Schodorf (Menasha Area Soccer), Steve Finley (Oshkosh United Soccer Club), Lauri Millot (Rhinelander Soccer Club), Greg Baugher (Chippewa Strikers Soccer Club), Ken Pieper (Northwest Wisconsin Soccer Club, Rice Lake Soccer Association and District 9 - Northwest), John Reddan (Madison 56ers Soccer Club), Eric Bertun (Madison East Soccer Club and Madison FC), Ernie Englund (District 6 - Kenosha), Tom Zaiss (Bavarian Soccer Club), Scott Suprise (Croatian Eagles Soccer Club), Lawrence Pan (FC Milwaukee Nationals), David Scherer (Milwaukee Sport Club), Ward Komorowski (Polonia Youth Soccer Club), Nick Stojsavljevic (United Serbian Soccer Club), Drew Dion (Milwaukee Kickers Soccer Club and District 1 - Kickers), Jan Ochsenwald (Cedarburg Soccer Club), Ed Kreiter (Kettle Moraine Soccer Association Club), Mike Stojslavjevic (Mequon Soccer Club), Chuck Lanser (Port Washington Soccer Club), Ken Voigt (WSA Representative), Jim Jacobson (Elm Grove Soccer Club), Jack DeSelm (Hartford United Soccer Club), Ken Ward (Kettle Moraine Lazers Soccer Club and District 8 - Waukesha), Dave Robinson (Lake Country United Soccer Club), Aaron Johnson (Pewaukee Soccer Club), Ann Girard (District 4 – East Central), Carl Micke (WSA Board Representative), Yvonne Bennett (WYSA Executive Director), Kurt Sonnentag (WYSA Treasurer, WSA Representative and Middleton Yahara Soccer Club), Nathan Thompkins (District 2 - Racine), Peter Mariahazy (WYSA President), Sue Walter (State Youth Referee Administrator), Terry Donini (WYSA Vice President), Toby Whipple (WYSA Secretary), Arlyn Clarksen (WSA Representative), John McCue (Coulee Youth Soccer – LaCrosse and District 12 - Southwest), Gretchen McCarthy (Big Footers Soccer Club), Alex "Sandy" Cowan (Burlington Youth Soccer Club and District 7 - Stateline), Cindy Wienkers (Green Bay Lightning)

Guests: Greg Stein, Schenck Business Solutions; John Sweeney, Girls Coach of the Year

APPROVED 2/28/09

Peter Mariahazy, WYSA President, called the meeting to order at 9:05am with a moment of silence for those in soccer that have passed away before us.

Introduction of WYSA Officers, Program Chairs, Staff & Guests

<u>Sales Tax Issue</u> – Greg Stein, Schenck Business Solutions

Greg reviewed the Wisconsin Sales and Use Tax Report and several court cases that would indicate that sports clubs must charge sales tax on their registration fees.

Peter Mariahazy suggested that within the next 30 days WYSA will develop documents (talking points) for members use in approaching their state legislators regarding trying to get legislation introduced to exempt sports clubs from Wisconsin sales tax. There was group consensus for this approach.

<u>Coaching Education Update</u> – Jim Launder, WYSA Director of Coaching

Jim gave a recap of his Developmental Pyramid for short-sided games that he presented at the USYSA Workshop in Pittsburgh, PA in February 2008.

Approval of Minutes

Motion: To approve the minutes from the March 17, 2007 WYSA AGM as written. Moved by Sandy Cowan (Burlington Youth Soccer Club), 2nd by Don Wirtz (Fond du Lac Soccer Club). *Motion approved*.

Nominations for WYSA Vice President

Terry Donini was nominated by Howard Hoffman (Marshfield Youth SA), 2nd by Sandy Cowan (Burlington Youth Soccer Club). There were no other nominations. Terry was elected by acclimation.

Nominations for Treasurer

Kurt Sonnentag was nominated by Toby Whipple (WYSA Secretary), 2nd by Ken Ward (Kettle Moraine Lazers Soccer Club). There were no other nominations. Kurt was elected by acclimation.

Nominations for Youth Representatives to the WSA Board

Arlyn Clarksen was nominated by Terry Donini (WYSA Treasurer), 2nd by Jim Welnetz (Manitowoc Goalgetters Soccer Club).

Ken Voigt was nominated by Ken Pieper (Northwest), 2nd John McCue (Coulee Youth Soccer – LaCrosse). Both were elected by acclimation.

2008-09 Budget Presentation

Kurt Sonnentag, WYSA Treasurer, presented an overview of the 2008-09 Budget.

Motion: To approve the 2008-09 WYSA Budget as presented. Moved by Don Wirtz (Fond du Lac Soccer Club), 2nd by Howard Hoffman (Marshfield Youth SA). *Motion passed*.

State of the State – Peter Mariahazy, WYSA President

Peter gave an update on the Department of Labor circuit court case regarding withholding taxes as it relates to referees, which is still pending.

APPROVED 2/28/09

Peter reviewed the history of the WSA-WYSA dispute regarding the youth incorporation.

Peter gave an update on the task force that is working on the determining a new player registration – team scheduling software system. They are currently interviewing various providers and will be coming back with a recommendation.

Peter gave an update on the WYSA web site member portal, which will allow access to an area for WYSA members only. Behind the member portal would be such things as the concussion information collaborative with IMPACT, coaching information, etc.

Peter reiterated that the WYSA officers would like to continue to attend District Meetings at least once per year to answer questions or present any information as requested.

Competitions Update – Terry Donini, WYSA Vice President

Terry introduced the volunteer directors for the WYSA competitions: Carl Micke - State Championship Series, Ann Girard – Girls State League, and Scott Suprise – Boys State League.

<u>Referee Committee Presentation</u> – Sue Water, State Youth Referee Administrator provided an update from the State Referee Committee.

2007 Coach of the Year Recognition

John Sweeney, Milwaukee Kickers Soccer Club, was presented with the Girls Coach of the Year Award.

Chris Buchanan, Southwest District, was awarded as the Boys Coach of the Year. John McCue, Southwest District Representative, accepted the award on behalf of Chris, who was unable to attend.

For the Good of the Game

Arlyn Clarksen announced that on March 15, 2008 the WSA will be holding their annual Hall of Fame induction banquet.

Motion to Adjourn. Moved by Kurt Schodorf (Menasha Area Soccer Club), 2nd by Sandy Cowan (Burlington Youth Soccer Club). Meeting was adjourned by acclimation at 12:15pm.