State Board of Directors Meeting November 17, 2022 – 6:30pm Electronic Meeting

Alvaro Garcia-Velez called the meeting called to order at 6:32 pm.

1. Attendance & Call to Order

Alvaro Garcia-Velez (WYSA President), Jay DeBruin (WYSA Vice President), Chris Lay (WYSA Secretary), Chris Yustus (Midway), Parker Conover (MAYSA), Shan Amini (Waukesha), Ernie Englund (Kenosha), Chris McCormick (Kickers), Alex Schroeder (Ozaukee), John Janasik (Metro), Francisco de la Rosa (Southwest), Melissa Zielinski (WYSA Executive Director), Craig Carlson (WYSA Associate Director of Coaching)

2. President's Updates

Alvaro shared updates on progress for US Soccer appointing SRA to WisRef/SRC. There are four candidates that US Soccer has interviewed based on recommendations by Youth and Adult. A decision will be forthcoming "soon"; perhaps the next week or two.

Attached is the State Office report prepared by the Executive Director

3. Treasurer's Report

Financials are attached. As of end of October, the year-year difference is tracking like a "normal" year. Please note, however, that compared to the previous year specifically there are some higher expenses simply due to increased attendance participation now that we have been removed from Covid.

4. Old Business

Background checks, SafeSport and Pass Cards – Staff continues to explore the most efficient way to process risk management more frequently (e.g., a universal date) whereby all sync-up on a similar date. This may be a phased-in process to include electronic coach pass. US Soccer is also exploring these issues and it would be preferential to be in concert with their roll out. It is also necessary to be easily verifiable on game day/at the field.

Motion to 1) discontinue physical coach passes, move to electronic passes; and 2) a universal, annualized background check. Motion by Parker; second by Chris Yustus. Approved

Melissa will report back on anticipated costs, timeline and administrative impacts.

Bylaw Committee – Alvaro is continuing to form this committee. More updates to come. Others are invited to join or provide input.

5. Player Registration Policy

A subgroup of staff and Board was assembled to look at player registration systems being used by clubs (or districts) other than Demosphere. A policy has been prepared to better accommodate those clubs & districts to facilitate player upload that specifies timelines, de-duplication and associated costs.

Chris McCormick makes a motion to accept the attached player registration policy; seconded by Ernie Englund. All approve.

6. For the Good of the Game

Mike Holt (Mt Horeb SC) Boys Rec Coach and Julia Tsarkovsky, Young Female Referee – have subsequently been named as Midwest Region II Award Winners for 2022.

Elite 64 Event hosted in Round Rock, TX – multiple clubs & teams from Wisconsin attended including North Shore United and Madison 56ers.

DRAFT

Reminder of March 11, 2023 WYSA AGM at Harley Davidson Museum in Milwaukee. Speakers are being considered.

2022 Hall of Fame Inductees Include Julie Angevine (Player), James Danaher (Player), Jay DeMerit (Player), Terry Donini (Administrator), Jenniefer Heft (Player), Karen Lunda (Player), Michael Moynihan (Player/Coach), Tari St. John (Player/Coach), David Scott (Coach); Gene Edwards Special Recognition Award – Larry Sayles

Meeting adjourned at 7:22 pm.